Michael Vazquez


The Cosmos

By Michael Vazquez

Day 1 of 8: Intro

Since before the rise and fall of empires, humanity has attempted to live and breathe in one accord with liturgical rhythms of the sky. The Ancients designed our calendars around the dance of the luminaries and the transit of planets. Our Ancestors meticulously crafted rituals to reflect the movements of celestial bodies, calling forth their character and their influence.

Eventually, each day of the week was named after the seven traditional celestial bodies: the two luminaries, Moon and Sun, and the five planets, Mars, Mercury, Jupiter, Venus, and Saturn. This tradition goes as far back as the ancient Babylonians and continues today. The ascribing of planets to particular days serves as an opportunity to consider the complex magnificence of the Divine, and the invitation into a profoundly intimate relationship with the Divine movement in our day-to-day lives and throughout the cosmos.

In light of the magnificence of the universe, we are—as the Scriptures say—but dust. The dust of the earth is divine. It is beautiful. It is gritty and foundational. When life is breathed into it, it breaks forth in wonder and beauty. Yet it is still dust—just one piece of the greater story.

In the Lunation devotional, we explored how we could reflect and align ourselves to the rhythms of the lunar phases. In The Cosmos we will journey through the days of the week and reflect on how we can draw close to the nature and the magic and the beauty of the Divine, as represented in the seven celestial bodies ascribed to each day.

As you reflect each day of the week, I pray you are captivated by the grandeur of the cosmos and the inconceivable closeness of the Goddess.

Consider the stars.

Finish reading this 8-day devotional in the app. Find it on the Featured shelf.